Max-Planck-Institut

Case Study Big Data and Data Storage: astronomical amounts of data at the Max Planck Institute

Seemingly endless vastness of data – managed by the Max Planck Institute of Radio Astronomy with OpenArchive by GRAU DATA: a case study about using an open source program for big data from Pulsa research.

When a research facility such as the Max Planck Institute is looking for new insights into deep space, they first of all find one thing: astronomical amounts of data. Therein lie the answers to big questions.

That is how the research group for radio astronomical fundamental physics at the Max Planck Institute explores the cosmic radio emission. For this, they analyze so-called pulsars to research the magnetic forces of the galaxy. Their observations and data enable nothing less than tests of the general theory of relativity and alternative theories of gravity.

Data for this is collected at the radio telescope Effelsberg, which generates about 100 gigabytes of data during only 30 minutes of measurements. Every month, around 18 terabytes of measured data is stored for calculation and analysis. Interpretation of this data takes notably longer. By law, the institute has to archive this data for 10 years – not even the blink of an eye, from the universe’s perspective. The data on outer space does not lose its relevance for centuries and could achieve a breakthrough for future research. For this reason, it has to be stored securely and for a very long time so that unhindered access is possible at all times. New algorithms are developed all the time, including “old” databases as well. The problem is: Storage space is not unlimited. It would blow the institute’s budgets by far to archive all data from radio telescopes onto hard drives, meaning online repositories Additionally, most of the data is not constantly in use and lies untouched on the storage units most of the time – using up resources.

This poses the challenge to store enormous amounts in the long term, securely, and at the same time cost-efficiently. The solution: a Hierarchical Storage Management concept on a basis of GRAU DATA

OpenArchive – an open source HSM and archiving software that can maintain several petabytes of data very efficiently – combined with LTO tapes as a medium for long-term archiving.

FAST IMPLEMENTATION

The countdown for outer space data storage with the HSM and archiving software OpenArchive starts in August 2011. As a first step, the software is ported into the Debian/GNU Linux operating system, as requested by the Max Planck Institute. Tests are completed successfully already in October and the complete solution is brought into service in November.

“The software is running perfectly reliably and also does not leave any administrative requirements unfulfilled,” is Jan Behrend’s, IT expert at the Max Planck Institute, comment on the successful project.

POWERFUL PRODUCTION SYSTEM

First of all, the astronomical measuring data from the radio telescope Effelsberg is buffered in 8 Gbit FC SAN on a 120 TB disk-online-storage. In terms of the server, powerful Fujitsu Primergy RX 300 S6 systems are available, redundantly shifting the data with GRAU DATA OpenArchive onto the Spectralogic LTO 5 Tape Libraries in Effelsberg and Bonn. In 2012, the archiving software manages around 350 tapes per library, each tape containing 1,5 terabyte (TiB) of data – and databases are quickly growing. Altogether, the amount of data rises to 525 terabytes until May 2012. The overall system, however, is expendable to up to 3,5 petabytes at the present time.

“As opposed to classic standard archiving systems in companies, the tape technology in our department of the Max Planck Institute is often used as expanded online storage, accessed by researchers on a regular basis,” Jan Behrend explains the storage space structure.

“Tape libraries in combination with OpenArchive are fast enough in a 1 Gbit/s network to provide the enormous amounts of data for our research groups. At the same time, this storage system offers us enormous cost advantages compared to classic online storage disks.”

The hardware-independent GRAU DATA OpenArchive in combination with Fujitsu servers is able to migrate large amounts of data very quickly onto tape libraries. Start data rate in this HSM system is one gigabit per second. Read-write speed reaches up to 130 MiB per second and per device, if the tapes are working to capacity, which is equivalent to ca. 500 GiByte per hour.

ADMINISTRATING LARGE AMOUNTS OF DATA MADE EASY

OpenArchive offers the IT team at the research institute easy and intuitive administration. Fill levels and transfer rates are constantly controlled by the software. If manual intervention was necessary, the administrator immediately receives a message. Daily backup of metadata into the remote location, too, happens fully automatically.

Because of the trouble-free operation of the

HSM and archiving software, the Max Planck Institute decided to use the multi-client capability of this solution and to incorporate two additional research groups into the whole system. Due to the multi-client capability, it was possible to create separate partitions which ensures separation of data and the separate use of drives and tapes.

INDIVIDUAL AND FLEXIBLE: OPEN SOURCE FOR LINUX

A defining reason for using GRAU DATA archiving software was its availability as an open source program, besides broad functions and porting into the Linux operating software Debian. The Max Planck Institute, like most research institutes all over the world, relies on Linux as an operating system platform. With OpenArchive, GRAU DATA offers the only Linux based professional archiving software on an open source basis in the world.

“Considerations aim amongst possible cuts in expenses for licenses also at the fact that we as a research institute often design and write own applications. These are easier to tie into the open code of an archiving software in a consistent open source environment.” (Jan Behrend)

Do you want to learn more about HSM archiving with the open source program OpenArchive? Read more about the software here or contact us directly for individual advice.

Max-Planck-Institut

Big Data und Datenspeicherung: astronomische Datenmengen im Max-Planck-Institut

Unendliche Weiten an Daten – diese verwaltet das Max-Planck-Institut für Radioastronomie mit dem OpenArchive von GRAU DATA: eine Case Study zur Nutzung eines Open Source Programmes für Big Data aus der Pulsa- Forschung.

Wenn eine Forschungseinrichtung wie das Max-Planck-Institut in den Tiefen der Galaxien nach neuen Erkenntnissen sucht, findet sie zunächst eines: astronomisch große Datenmengen. In ihnen liegen die Antworten auf große Fragen.

So ergründet die Forschungsgruppe für Radioastronomische Fundamentalphysik des Max-Planck-Instituts die kosmische Radiostrahlung. Dazu untersuchen sie sogenannte Pulsare, um die magnetischen Kräfte der Milchstraße zu erforschen. Ihre Beobachtungen und Daten ermöglichen nichts Geringeres als Tests der Allgemeinen Relativitätstheorie und alternativer Gravitationstheorien.

Die Daten hierfür stammen von dem Radioteleskop Effelsberg, das bei einer Messung in nur 30 Minuten über 100 Gigabyte an Daten erzeugt. Monatlich werden rund 18 Terabyte (TiB) an Messdaten zur Berechnung und Analyse gespeichert. Die Auswertung der Daten dauert ungleich länger. Per Gesetz müssen das Institut diese Daten für 10 Jahre archivieren – nicht einmal einen Wimpernschlag in Weltall-Zeiten. Die Daten über das Weltall verlieren auch in Jahrhunderten nicht an Aktualität und könnten den Durchbruch für zukünftige Forschung bedeuten. Daher müssen sie sicher und für sehr lange Zeit gespeichert werden, sodass ein ungehinderter Zugriff jederzeit möglich ist. Denn ständig werden neue Algorithmen entwickelt, für die auch „alte“ Datenbestände miteinbezogen werden. Das Problem ist: Der Speicherplatz ist nicht unendlich. Alle Daten der Radioteleskope auf Festplatten, also auf Online-Speicher zu archivieren, würde die Budgets des Instituts bei Weitem sprengen. Hinzu kommt, dass die Daten ohnehin nicht ständig genutzt werden und oftmals längere Zeit unberührt auf den Speichereinheiten liegen – und währenddessen Ressourcen verbrauchen.

Es stellt sich also die Herausforderung, enorm große Datenmengen langfristig, sicher, und dabei kosteneffizient zu speichern. Die Lösung: ein Hierarchisches Speichermanagement-Konzept

auf Basis von GRAU DATA OpenArchive – einer Open Source HSM- und Archiv-Software, die mehrere Petabyte an Daten sehr effizient verwalten.

SCHNELLE IMPLEMENTIERUNG

Der Startcountdown der Weltalldatenspeicherung mit der HSM- und Archivierungssoftware OpenArchive beginnt im August 2011. Im ersten Schritt wird die Software auf Wunsch des Max-Planck-Instituts in kurzer Zeit auf das Betriebssystem Debian/GNU Linux portiert. Bereits im Oktober werden die Tests erfolgreich abgeschlossen und im November wird die Gesamtlösung produktiv in Betrieb genommen.

„Die Software läuft absolut zuverlässig und lässt auch bei der Administration keine Wünsche offen“, kommentiert Jan Behrend das erfolgreiche Projekt.

LEISTUNGSSTARKES PRODUKTIONSSYSTEM

Die astronomischen Messdaten vom Radioteleskop Effelsberg werden zunächst im 8 Gbit FC SAN auf einem 120 TB Platten-Online-Speicher gepuffert. Server-seitig stehen leistungsfähige Fujitsu Primergy RX 300 S6 Systeme zur Verfügung, welche die Daten mithilfe des GRAU DATA OpenArchive auf die Spectralogic LTO 5 Tape Libraries in Effelsberg und Bonn redundant verlagern. Pro Library verwaltet die Archivsoftware in 2012 rund 350 Bänder mit je 1,5 Terabyte (TiB) Fassungsvermögen – und die Datenbestände wachsen schnell. Insgesamt wächst der Datenbestand bis Mai 2012 auf 525 Terabyte an. Das Gesamtsystem ist jedoch derzeit auf bis zu 3,5 Petabyte ausbaubar.

„Im Gegensatz zu klassischen Archivsystemen in Unternehmen wird die Band-Technologie in unserer Abteilung des Max-Planck-Instituts oftmals als erweiterter Online-Speicher genutzt, auf den die Forscher in regelmäßigen Abständen zugreifen“, erklärt Jan Behrend, IT-Spezialist beim Max-Planck-Institut den Aufbau der Speicherstruktur.

„Die Tape Libraries in Verbindung mit OpenArchive sind im 1 GBit/s Netzwerk schnell genug, um den Forschungsgruppen ihre enorm großen Datenmengen zur Verfügung zu stellen. Gleichzeitig bietet uns das Speichersystem enorme Kostenvorteile im Vergleich zu einem klassischen Online-Speicher auf Disk.“
Das hardware-unabhängige GRAU DATA OpenArchive in Verbindung mit den Fujitsu Servern ist in der Lage, große Datenmengen sehr schnell auf die Tape Libraries zu migrieren. Die Eingangsdatenrate in das HSM-System liegt bei einem Gigabit pro Sekunde. Die Schreib- und Lesegeschwindigkeit erreicht bei optimaler Auslastung der Tape-Laufwerke bis zu 130 MiB pro Sekunde und Laufwerk, was ca. 500 GiByte/Stunde entspricht.

VERWALTUNG GROSSER DATENMENGEN LEICHT GEMACHT

OpenArchive bietet dem IT-Team des Forschungsinstituts eine leichte und intuitive Administration. Füllstände und Transferraten werden von der Software ständig kontrolliert. Sollte ein manueller Eingriff nötig sein, erhält der Administrator sofort eine Meldung. Auch das tägliche Backup der Metadaten in die Remote-Location verläuft automatisch.

Aufgrund des problemlosen Betriebs der HSM- und Archivierungssoftware entschloss sich

das Max Planck Institut, die Mandantenfähigkeit der Lösung zu nutzen und zwei weitere Forschungsgruppen in das gesamte System mit einzubinden. Durch die Mandantenfähigkeit ließen sich separate Partitionen anlegen, wodurch eine Trennung der Daten und die separierte Nutzung der Laufwerke und Tapes gewährleistet sind.

INDIVIDUELL UND FLEXIBEL: OPEN SOURCE FÜR LINUX

Ein entscheidender Grund für die Nutzung der GRAU DATA Archiv-Software war neben den umfangreichen Funktionen und der Portierung auf das Linux Betriebssystem Debian die Verfügbarkeit als Open Source Programm. Das Max-Planck-Institut setzt, wie die Mehrheit der weltweiten Forschungsinstitute, auf die Betriebssystem-Plattform Linux. GRAU DATA bietet mit OpenArchive die weltweit einzige linux-basierte professionelle Archivsoftware auf Open Source Basis.

Jan Behrend sagt zur Open Source Strategie: „Die Überlegungen zielen neben eventuellen Kosteneinsparungen für Lizenzen auch darauf, dass wir als Forschungsinstitut oftmals eigene Anwendungen designen und schreiben. Diese lassen sich in einer durchgängigen Open Source-Umgebung leichter über den offenen Code der Archivierungssoftware anbinden.“

Möchten Sie mehr über HSM-Archivierung mit dem Open Source Programm OpenArchive erfahren? Dann lesen Sie hier mehr über die Software OpenArchive oder kontaktieren Sie uns hier direkt für eine individuelle Beratung.