CASE SPARKASSE KARLSRUHE

Case Study Banking and Audit-proof Archiving fully automatic WORM solution for Sparkasse Karlsruhe

Reliable and flexible, and preferably undertaking all tasks automatically. That’s what the Sparkasse Karlsruhe was looking for in an ideal archiving solution. They found it in FileLock by GRAU DATA.

Every company is obliged to do audit-proof archiving of data. Banks in particular have to archive their data in line with compliance, legal regulations and specific industry standards. Of course, the Sparkasse Karlsruhe is no exception.

With its 82 subsidiary stores and almost 1,500 employees, it ranks amongst the biggest Sparkassen in Germany and accordingly demands high standards of their archiving: Fast, secure and fully automatic was what they were looking for. Only well-engineered and reliable software was in line. That is why they decided to go with the FileLock software by GRAU DATA with WORM protection.

Back to the beginnings: What did the IT system of the Sparkasse Karlsruhe look like? Besides IT operations that are being processed in the central computing center of all Sparkassen, the computational finance, the Sparkasse Karlsruhe operates its own IT infrastructure consisting of server, storage and network. Data accumulates here as well, and this data has to be stored after processing and what’s more, archived reliably and within the law. After the virtualization of Microsoft servers, which has been implemented on the basis of Microsoft HyperV, the previous archiving solution – a WORM-capable Blue Ray Jukebox, became outdated once and for all. The search for a new archiving system began.

Thomas Marcadal, systems integrator and software developer for IT services of Sparkasse Karlsruhe, started his search at the turn of the year 2015/2016. He had very detailed ideas and demanded high standards of the future WORM solution: A software-based solution supporting virtualized environments and, above all, be lean, simple to install and easy to maintain. Find out why he settled for FileLock by GRAU DATA:

HARDWARE-INDEPENDENT AND INSTALLED QUICKLY

As soon as the decision for FileLock is made, the software can be installed immediately. Integration is quick and easy and does not require any adjustment of the existing IT system. FileLock operates completely hardware-independently and fits in seamlessly with the existing IT structure. This allows the Sparkasse Karlsruhe to choose the hardware they use flexibly and without limitations. This way, it is possible to purchase the license at the beginning of 2016 and have FileLock installed, configured, tested and ready to use by March 2016.

“This software is incredibly lean and offers all the functions we need. The test installation and configuration happened within 20 minutes, completely trouble-free and without needing any help from the GRAU DATA service. Another nice advantage of FileLock is that it is not dependent on hardware. We were able to choose the storage platform that best suits our needs. This is exactly how I imagined the new archiving solution, “ said Thomas Marcadal to describe his first experiences with FileLock.

AUDIT-PROOF AND CONFIRMED BY KPMG

To make sure that all data archiving is audit-proof, internal revision at Sparkasse Karlsruhe demands certain standards and appropriate attestation. This is also covered by FileLock – the electronic data archiving is certified by KPMG according to legal regulations.

“It is imperative for us as Sparkasse to obtain independent certification from accredited inspection authorities.

Even for that, GRAU DATA had a simple solution: I could download a detailed report from their website, including attestation from the auditing company KPMG that rated FileLock to be verified and secure,” explained Thomas Marcadal.

INDIVIDUALLY SCALABLE

When installation of FileLock started in the beginning of 2016, the challenge was to archive around 1,5 terabytes of data in WORM formatting. Judging from experiences of the past years, growth of data volume is assumed to range around two gigabytes per month.

For the highly scalable FileLock this does not pose a problem – not even in the long run.

FULLY AUTOMATED DISTRIBUTION AND REPLICATION BETWEEN SAVE LOCATIONS

When it comes to physical storage, the Sparkasse relies on two NAS systems, each having 4 TB capacity. The NAS storage devices can be configured with up to 8 disks, using only 4 slots each in the first step. This ensures long term scalability of the storage capacity. The NAS solution is installed at different sites to additionally guarantee location-independent security.

FileLock writes WORM data on both NAS systems, using a very useful additional feature of FileLock: Besides the WORM functionality, the software can not only operate various storage pools but also fully automatically replicate these. It only took a few clicks to activate this function as well.

RELIABLE WITH MINIMAL ADMINISTRATION EFFORT

„We are very happy with the new WORM solution. It is lean, was extremely easy to install in our environment and the configuration was absolutely uncomplicated with minimal effort. The best thing about FileLock though is its reliability. The WORM archiving system has been running for three quarters of a year now and there is no administrative work needed, except from a quick glance at the admin panel every month.

That is notably less effort than required with our previous JukeBox. This is how I picture a fully automated solution,” said Thomas Marcadal with delight about the installation of FileLock by GRAU DATA GmbH.

Do you want to find out more about easy audit-proof archiving with FileLock? Read more about the software here or contact us directly for individual advice.

SPARKASSE KARLSRUHE

Bankwesen und revisionssichere Archivierung: voll automatisierte WORM-Lösung für die Sparkasse Karlsruhe

„Zuverlässig und flexibel sollte sie sein und am besten alle Aufgaben automatisch übernehmen. Die Sparkasse Karlsruhe hat nach der idealen Archivierungs-Lösung gesucht – und sie mit FileLock von GRAU DATA gefunden.“

Jedes Unternehmen ist zur revisionssicheren Archivierung von Daten verpflichtet. Insbesondere Banken müssen ihre Daten gemäß Compliance, gesetzlichen Vorschriften und speziellen Branchenregeln archivieren. Auch die Sparkasse Karlsruhe bildet da keine Ausnahme.

Mit 82 Filialen und knapp 1.500 Mitarbeitern zählt sie zu einer der größten Sparkassen in Deutschland und stellt entsprechend hohe Ansprüche an ihre Archivierung: Schnell, sicher und vollkommen automatisiert sollte ihre Archivierungs-Lösung sein, nur ausgereifte und zuverlässige Softwares kommen in Frage. Daher entscheiden sie sich für die FileLock Software von GRAU DATA mit WORM-Schutz

Doch zurück zur Ausgangslage: Wie sah das IT-System der Sparkasse Karlsruhe aus? Neben den IT-Prozessen, die im zentralen Rechenzentrum der Sparkassen, in der Finanzinformatik, verarbeitet werden, betreibt die Sparkasse Karlsruhe eine eigene IT-Infrastruktur aus Server, Speicher und Netzwerk.

Auch hier fallen Daten an, die nach der Verarbeitung gespeichert und vor allem zuverlässig und gesetzeskonform archiviert werden müssen. Nach der Virtualisierung der Microsoft Server, die auf Basis von Microsoft HyperV realisiert wurde, war die bisherige Archiv-Lösung, eine WORM-fähige Blue Ray Jukebox, endgültig veraltet. Die Suche nach einem neuen Archiv-System begann.

Thomas Marcadal, Systemintegrator und Softwareentwickler bei IT-Dienstleistungen der Sparkasse Karlsruhe, startet die Suche zur Jahreswende 2015/2016. Er hat klare Vorstellungen und hohe Ansprüche an die künftige WORM-Lösung: Sie sollte Software-basiert virtualisierte Umgebungen unterstützen sowie vor allem eine schlanke, leicht zu installierende und einfach zu verwaltende Lösung sein. Warum er sich für FileLock von GRAU DATA entschied, erfahren Sie hier:

HARDWARE-UNABHÄNGIG UND SCHNELL INSTALLIERT

Kaum fällt die Entscheidung für FileLock, schon ist die Software innerhalb kürzester Zeit installiert. Denn die Integration ist schnell und einfach und erfordert keine Anpassung des bestehenden IT-Systems. FileLock arbeitet völlig unabhängig von der Hardware und fügt sich nahtlos in die bestehende IT-Struktur ein. So kann die Sparkasse Karlsruhe ihre verwendete Hardware flexibel und ohne Einschränkungen auswählen. So ist es möglich, dass FileLock nach dem Lizenzerwerb Anfang 2016 bereits Anfang März 2016 installiert, konfiguriert, getestet und einsatzbereit ist.

„Die Software ist unglaublich schlank und bietet alle Funktionen, die wir benötigen. Die Testinstallation und Konfiguration erfolgte innerhalb von 20 Minuten völlig problemlos und ohne jegliche Unterstützung vom GRAU DATA Service zu benötigen. Ein weiterer schöner Vorteil von FileLock ist die Hardwareunabhängigkeit. So konnten wir die Speicherplattform wählen, die für unsere Bedürfnisse am besten passt. Genau so hatte ich mir die neue Archivierungslösung vorgestellt“, beschreibt Thomas Marcadal seine ersten Erfahrungen mit FileLock.

REVISIONSSICHERHEIT DURCH KPMG BESTÄTIGT

Um sicherzustellen, dass alle Daten revisionssicher archiviert werden, werden von der internen Revision der Sparkasse Karlsruhe Mindestanforderungen und entsprechende Testate gefordert. Auch diese bietet FileLock, deren elektronische Datenarchivierung nach den gesetzlichen Vorschriften von KPMG zertifiziert ist,

„Für uns als Sparkasse sind unabhängige Zertifizierungen von anerkannten Prüfstellen zwingend notwendig.

Doch auch hier sorgte GRAU DATA für eine unkomplizierte Lösung. Auf der Homepage konnte ich mir einen ausführlichen Bericht mit Testat von der Wirtschaftsprüfergesellschaft KPMG herunterladen, die FileLock als geprüft und sicher einstufte“, erklärt Thomas Marcadal.

INDIVIDUELL SKALIERBAR

Als Anfang 2016 die Installation von FileLock beginnt, gilt es, eine Datenmenge von rund 1,5 Terabyte im WORM-Format zu archivieren. Aus den Erfahrungen der vorgehenden Jahre geht man von einer Wachstumsrate des Datenvolumens von ungefähr zwei Gigabyte pro Monat aus.

Für das hoch skalierbare FileLock ist dies auch langfristig kein Problem.

VOLLAUTOMATISIERTE DISTRIBUTION UND REPLIKATION

Beim physischen Speicher setzt die Sparkasse auf zwei NAS-Systeme mit je 4 TB Kapazität. Die NAS-Speicher lassen sich mit bis zu acht Platten konfigurieren wobei im ersten Schritt nur je vier Slots genutzt werden. Damit wird eine langfristige Skalierbarkeit der Speicherkapazität gewährleistet. Die Installation der NAS-Lösungen erfolgt an unterschiedlichen Standorten, wodurch eine zusätzliche ortsunabhängige Sicherheit garantiert wird.

Beide NAS-Systeme werden von FileLock mit WORM-Daten beschrieben, wobei eine sehr nützliche zusätzliche Funktion von FileLock zum Einsatz kommt: Die Software kann neben der WORM-Funktionalität nicht nur unterschiedliche Speicherpools bedienen, sondern diese auch vollautomatisch untereinander replizieren. Mit nur wenigen Klicks war auch diese Funktion aktiviert.

ZUVERLÄSSIG BEI MINIMALEM ADMINISTRATIONSAUFWAND

„Mit der neuen WORM-Lösung sind wir absolut glücklich. Sie ist schlank, ließ sich extrem leicht in unsere Umgebung installieren und die Konfiguration war mit wenig Aufwand völlig unkompliziert. Das Beste an FileLock ist jedoch die Zuverlässigkeit. Das WORM-Archivsystem läuft nun fast ein dreiviertel Jahr und außer einem kurzen monatlichen Blick auf die Admin-Konsole fallen keinerlei administrative Tätigkeiten an.

Dies ist für uns ein deutlich geringerer Aufwand als bei der früheren Juke Box. So stelle ich mir eine voll automatisierte Lösung vor“, freut sich Thomas Marcadal über den Einsatz von FileLock der GRAU DATA GmbH.

Möchten Sie mehr über die einfache revisionssichere Archivierung mit FileLock erfahren? Dann lesen Sie hier mehr über die Software FileLock oder kontaktieren Sie uns hier direkt für eine individuelle Beratung.