Parallel Data Mover

Parallel Data Transfer: Maximum Throughput for Ultra-scalable Filing Systems like Lustre

The ideal addition for high-performance systems: The Parallel Data Mover (PDM) allows unlimited data transfer

between ultra-scalable filing systems and backend technologies. Maximize your goodput!

Whether it be the industry, research or a governmental institution – if you process large quantities of data, you need powerful technologies. The PDM is the ideal solution for this.

Having been developed especially to meet demands of high-performance systems, it allows maximum goodput between parallel filing systems and POSIX-based backend technologies. This opens up new possibilities for processing data.

PDM can help you lower your expenses for data storage by building an HSM archiving system. The data will be swapped and stored on cheaper storage devices instead of the costly high-performance system. Combined with the open source program OpenArchive, this is an affordable option for long-term archiving of large amounts of data.

The PDM allows you to rely on a simple and unimpeded application.

If nodes or certain infrastructures should become inoperative, the PDM recognizes it and automatically transfers the workload to the remaining nodes – without disrupting the running operation. In most cases, you won’t even notice the outage. In addition to that, administration is kept simple: Each PDM entity operates within a configured subnetwork and controls the workloads and the necessary resources in these subnets automatically.

The PDM is independent in terms of hardware and not tied to certain filing systems. This way, it can be easily incorporated into your IT system. Secure unlimited data transfer for your system!

PROBLEM DESCRIPTION

Parallel filing systems such as Lustre are ideal for processing huge amounts of data extremely fast. However, it can be very expensive and grossly inefficient to store data there for a long time. At the same time, it is difficult to copy the enormous amounts of data from the parallel filing system to the backend. How can data be swapped without losing the instant availability?

The solution is the Parallel Data Mover (PDM). Parallel data swapping maximizes the capacity to copy from parallel filing systems to backend technologies. This enables efficient HSM archives and extremely fast data transfers.

FUNCTIONALITY

The PDM is the ideal solution for copying large amounts of data. The software’s special mechanism allows copying several files at the same time. Files are being bundled into workloads and transferred to workers which are distributed between the various nodes. The optimized design makes it possible to reach a copy capacity of up to 5 GB/s per node or 1 TB/s with 200 nodes. Still not enough? The PDM is scalable up to several thousand nodes – according to the individual demands of your systems.

More nodes can be added easily anytime.

The Parallel Data Mover offers you flexibility to use different filing systems and supports all standard POSIX filing systems, Lustre filing systems, as well as PLFS. Data transfer is made via Lustre HSM API or REST API.

Do you want to maximize your data transfern? Do you have any questions concerning the Parallel Data Mover or do you require individual advice for your company? Feel free to directly contact us here.

Parallel Data Mover

Paralleler Datentransfer: Höchster Datendurchsatz für ultraskalierbare Filesysteme wie Lustre

Die ideale Ergänzung für Hochleistungs-Systeme: Der Parallel Data Mover (PDM) ermöglicht unbegrenzten Datentransfer zwischen ultra skalierbaren Filesystemen und Backend-Technologien. Maximieren Sie Ihren Datendurchsatz!

Ob Industrie, Forschung oder staatliche Einrichtung – wer große Datenmengen verarbeitet, braucht leistungsstarke Technologien! Der PDM ist hier die optimale Lösung.

Er wurde speziell für die Anforderungen von High-Performance-Systemen entwickelt und ermöglicht höchsten Datendurchsatz zwischen parallelen Filesystemen und POSIX-basierten Backend-Technologien. Dies öffnet Ihnen neue Möglichkeiten im Umgang mit Ihren Daten.

Senken Sie mit dem PDM etwa die Kosten Ihrer Datenspeicherung, indem Sie ein HSM Archivsystem erstellen. Die Daten werden dann vom kostenintensiven High-Performance-System auf günstigere Speichermedien ausgelagert. Zusammen mit dem Open-Source-Programm OpenArchive ist dies eine kostengünstige Möglichkeit zur effizienten Langzeitarchivierung von großen Datenmengen.

Mit dem PDM können Sie sich auf eine einfache und störungsfreie Anwendung verlassen.

Denn im Fall, dass Knoten oder bestimmte Infrastrukturen ausfallen, erkennt es der PDM direkt und lagert die Arbeitslast automatisch auf die restlichen Knoten um – ohne den laufenden Betrieb zu stören. In den meisten Fällen werden Sie einen Ausfall nicht einmal bemerken. Zudem ist die Administration einfach gehalten: Jede PDM-Instanz steuert innerhalb eines konfigurierten Teilnetzes die Workloads und die dafür notwendigen Ressourcen vollautomatisch.

Der PDM ist hardware-unabhängig und nicht an bestimmte Filesysteme gebunden. So lässt er sich auch ganz leicht in Ihr IT-System integrieren. Sichern Sie sich unbegrenzten Datentransfer!

PROBLEMSTELLUNG

Parallele Filesysteme wie Lustre sind ideal, um riesige Datenmengen extrem schnell zu verarbeiten. Daten dort für lange Zeit zu speichern ist jedoch sehr kostspielig und ineffizient. Gleichzeitig ist es schwierig, die enormen Datenmengen vom parallelen Filesystem ins Backend zu kopieren. Doch wie können die Daten ausgelagert werden, ohne auch die schnelle Verfügbarkeit zu verlieren?

Die Lösung ist der Parallel Data Mover (PDM). Mit parallelem Datenaustausch maximiert er die Kopierleistung zwischen parallelen Filesystemen und den Technologien im Backend. So ermöglicht er effiziente HSM-Archive und einen äußerst schnellen Datentransfer.

FUNKTIONSWEISE

Der PDM ist die optimale Lösung für das Kopieren von großen Datenmengen. Der spezielle Mechanismus der Software ermöglicht es, mehrere Dateien parallel zu kopieren: Dateien werden in Workloads gebündelt und an Workers übertragen, die über die verschiedenen Knoten verteilt sind. Durch das optimierte Design ist es möglich, eine Kopierleistung von bis zu 5 GB/s pro Knoten bzw. 1 TB/s mit 200 Knoten zu erreichen.

Reicht Ihnen das noch nicht? Dann ist der PDM bis zu mehreren Tausend Knoten skalierbar – ganz individuell nach den Anforderungen Ihres Systems.

Das Hinzufügen von weiteren Knoten ist jederzeit, ganz einfach möglich.

Der Parallel Data Mover bietet Ihnen die Flexibilität, unterschiedliche Filesysteme zu nutzen und unterstützt alle Standard POSIX Filesysteme, Lustre Filesysteme sowie PLFS. Der Datentransfer erfolgt über die Lustre HSM API oder eine REST API.

Sie möchten Ihren Datentransfer maximieren? Haben Sie Fragen zum Parallel Data Mover oder wünschen eine individuelle Beratung für Ihr Unternehmen? Dann nehmen Sie gerne hier direkt Kontakt mit uns auf.